Things You Probably Never Cared to Know

Peaches are my favorite fruit, followed by pineapples.

I can’t say the word statistics without it coming out like suh-stis-ticks.  Fortunately, I don’t have to use that word very much in my classroom.

The first family pet I remember was a basset hound named Happy.  He was afraid of storms, but no one at our house would let him inside when the thunderstorms rolled in.  Happy would go about 150 yards to my best friend’s house, and her dad would let Happy sleep inside their house until the storm passed.

It’s amazing that I passed any classes my sophomore year of college because I don’t recall going to class very often.  I napped a lot that year.

I love to drive a stick-shift.

Thanks to my Daddy, I’m a great parallel parker.

I stink at going in reverse for more than 15 feet.  Something usually gets demolished.

I wanted to be one of Charlie’s Angels when I grew up.

I have never been to New Orleans, a fact that my friend, Bronwen, finds amazing.  And a little sad.

I love the smell of Gain laundry detergent.

I snore.

I love gardenias and detest carnations.

Shopping for office supplies makes me giddy.

Reading is the most soothing activity I can think of.

I wish I knew how places like FedEx work.  How can I mail a document at 3 p.m. in Memphis and have it reach Seattle by 10 a.m. the next day?  I. Don’t. Understand.

I never understood how to diagram sentences, and I never understood the point, either.

I would love to know how to play guitar, but I have no musical talents at all.  When my parents finally let me quit taking piano lessons, my grandfather was thrilled.  He had suffered through enough of my recitals.

All-righty-then, enough about boring old me.  Help me get to know you better and tell me something about you.  Any old tidbit will do.  C’mon, don’t be shy.  We’re all friends here.  🙂

Thank you, and have a lovely day.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carrie
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 11:16:56

    I love posts like this one!

    Hydrangeas are my absolute favorite flower.
    I can’t stand asparagus or okra.
    I can easily eat an entire sleeve of Girl Scout thin mint cookies at one sitting, if noone is watching me.
    I also wanted to be one of Charlie’s Angels when I grew up! 😉

    Have a great day!

    Reply

  2. JLI
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 11:33:25

    I love to drive stick-shift too. Especially now that I can do it well. I just re-learned how about 6 months ago on my husband’s VW Golf. Now it’s just F-U-N! I was disappointed when we got the Yaris a few months when I found out it wasn’t stick. Now I love having the option of both!

    When I was a kid, I pronounced cauliflower “cowl-uh-flawler”.

    The smell of new carpet makes my mouth water. (Strange, I know…)

    I love eating grated Parmesan cheese straight out of the container. I used to do the same thing with Italian bread crumbs when I was younger. I choked a lot at first, then figured out a water chaser was the perfect solution.

    I’m 33 and still don’t know how to swim.

    Why do you detest gardenias? Did you get a bad corsage for your prom or something? 🙂

    Reply

  3. Your PIC
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 12:10:02

    Well. I’m glad I actually DID know some of these…like how you napped all through our sophomore year. And how peaches are your favorite…every time I see the peach trees at SB’s parents’ house, I think of you. And I am so glad I knew you love gardenias, but I never ever realized a stapler or a pack of file folders would make you do a jig!!! Tater Mama…my southern lovin’, peach grubbin’, flower smellin’, staplin’ friend… I’m just glad I can say, “I knew her when…” ((((HUGS)))))

    Reply

  4. Lora Lynn @ Vitafamiliae
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 13:12:57

    I picked a Broadway Stars Pandora station this morning and my kids thought I’d lost my ever-lovin’ mind. They were amazed/appalled at how many songs I knew each and every word to. I spared them my soft-shoe routine. Mostly…

    Reply

  5. meghan @ spicy magnolia
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 13:56:59

    Fun list!

    I dropped my keys in the squatty potty of an outhouse and had to fish them out of all the muck.

    I can eat a whole bag of Oreos in one sitting.

    I can’t drive a stick shift and have no desire to learn. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Jenna
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 23:25:41

    Yor fact about your bassett made me a little sad for him as we have a beagle (our Tater) who is terrified of storms and hides in our closet or bathroom when they come.

    If I had to pick a favorite fruit it’d be cherries, though I love most of them.

    I have never liked the taste of beer.

    I LOVE Girl Scout somaos and feel entitled to eat a whole box each year as I am a GS Gold award recipient.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

