From Here to China

Kelly’s “Show Us Your Life” topic this week is wedding china.  Well, color me happy!  I adore china, everyday dishes, crystal, and the like.  If I had enough storage space, I would be one of those people who has 49 sets of china and everyday dishes.  Alas, my storage space is limited, but I do have two or three sets.

Our china is Hamilton by Lenox.  I am so sad because it’s now discontinued.

I haven’t used it in quite a while, but I love it every time I get it out.

Our every day dishes were by Portmerion.  What can I say?  I was 24 and loved color.

It didn’t take too long for us to get tired of these dishes, but they made a really pretty table.  I could use almost any color placemats and napkins and the whole table looked bright and festive.  However, we’ve long since moved on to using plain old white plates.  David likes those better.  Imagine a man not wanting to eat off of flowery plates!  Even though we got rid of most of the dishes, I did keep a couple of pieces that I still use now and then.

I said I would never register for Christmas china, but these dishes were so cute that I decided I could eat crow off of them and registered for them anyway.  This is “Tartan Plaid” by Sasaki.  Again, it has been discontinued, so we have to be careful every year that we use it.

I also have a set of my grandmother’s china, which I just love.  It’s dainty and sweet, and there are about a gillion pieces to it.  There are even demitasse cups and saucers.  I get such a kick out of imagining men with their big old fingers and hands trying to drink from those itty bitty cups.  David says it makes him nervous just to look at them.

I’ve used Grandmama’s china a couple of times for luncheons, and it always makes me nostalgic for Christmas dinners when we ate at her house.  It gives me a cozy feeling, and I can even remember the wonderful way her house smelled during the holidays.

There’s my own little “tour of China.”  If you have dishes you love or that you’d love to have, head on over to Kelly’s Korner and post a link.

Happy Friday, and have a great weekend.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JLI
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 10:45:09

    Oooh, I love that last bowl. It looks a lot like my grandma’s set. My mom has been sending me home on the plane with a few pieces here and there, as she can find them. She said she has the whole set stored somewhere in one of the sheds. I’m hoping to get it soon. Tonight, I will post pictures of my china!

    Reply

  2. Kelley
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 13:56:31

    OHHH! I love all your plates. I’m so bummed that my china was stolen.

    Yes. Stolen!

    I lived in an apartment complex and had a false sense of security with my “storage area” down in our basement. It was locked and everything, but someone still broke into my unit. Stole all of my antique items, including my grandmother’s china, old family dishes, etc. When we registered, I just couldn’t register for china. *sigh*

    Reply

  3. Katherine @ Grass Stains
    Jun 14, 2010 @ 15:41:11

    I linked up to China, too. And I, too, ended up with china that was just “too much” for long-term use. We are now eating on a more neutral, cream design. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

