Where Would I Even Begin?

For amost two years I’ve had my own domain floating around somewhere, just waiting for a customized blog design.  I haven’t gotten around to doing anything with it, and I’ve stayed here on wordpress.com since I started rambling on and on and on here on ye old blog.

I think it’s time for a change, though.  If you’ve seen Tater Tales in the last couple of days, you may have noticed that I’ve changed themes.  Again.  Because I’m BORED out of my mind with the ones we have to choose from.

The thing is, I don’t know where to start to find a blog designer who A) won’t charge and arm and a leg and a hunk of my retirement  to create something I can lurve for as long as the blog and I shall live, and B) who works with wordpress, and C) can make it so that all I have to do is log on and write.  I am so scared of the computer that I don’t want to think of CSS or FTP or anything that goes by initials alone.

Any ideas?  Because some of y’all have adorable blogs.

If you have suggestions, or if you know of a super cute blog, please let me know and I’ll contact the blogger and ask all kinds of questions.

Thank you oh-so-much, y’all.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JLI
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 09:41:05

    Go check out http://kbhawkins00.blogspot.com

    I can’t remember who did her theme, but it’s really cute. Not sure if the designer works with WordPress, but I’ll find out and let you know. I think Kim got it done for pretty cheap. And it was 100% customized to her preferences.

    I will tell ya one thing about WP.org domains. You are 100% responsible for it, meaning, if there are technical problems, you may have to solve them yourself. I’m sure there is help to be found on the forums, but I think you need to know quite a bit to be able to really control your blog.

    If you blog on Google’s service (Blogger), you can customize your blog with custom or even free themes that are easily added to your blog – for FREE. You won’t have a custom domain, but you will have full control over the appearance of your blog. You won’t be restricted with limited themes.

    Although, WordPress.com has been coming out with a lot of new themes lately, many of which are very customizable.

    Reply

  2. meghan @ spicy magnolia
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 13:49:41

    I had a wonderful experience with Nicole at The Pixel Boutique http://www.thepixelboutique.com/services/

    She works with WordPress I believe. It’s a bit expensive (I used b-day money), but you can do some a la carte items, or maybe it’ll work for you. Hope you can play around with something because it’s so fun!

    Reply

  3. Kelley
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 19:52:23

    Oh, nothing is worse than wanting to spice up the blog…but there isn’t much spice out there! I have spent money on blog design and sadly, I find that after a while, I think “eh…” (I did this for my cancer card blog).

    Try “The Cutest Blog on the Block”. I think they have a few word press choices. It’s a start! : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

