Not a Bad Weekend At All

I’m running a bit behind in writing about our weekend, but I suppose it’s better late than never.  Well, maybe.  Whatever.

It was a fairly boring weekend — imagine that — but sometimes it’s nice to be boring.  Know what I mean?

We ran some errands Friday afternoon and were worn out, what with the temperature being something like 184 degrees. IN THE SHADE.  I declared that it was way too hot to fire up the oven, so we ordered Chinese take-out.  I ate enough rice with soy sauce to make my hands swell up like balloons by Saturday morning.  Which they did.

Somewhere in the night, Tater Tot woke me up from a deep sleep and nearly scared the wits out of me.  The reason?  He had to go to the bathroom.  Now, he’s about 99 percent potty trained during the day.  He may have an accident every now and then, but overall he’s pretty reliable.  However, this is the first time he’s gotten up in the night to go to the bathroom.  I’m guessing this is a good sign, you know, except for the part about waking me up.  My question is this:  Will he learn on his own to get up during the night and go to the bathroom when he needs to, or should we start waking him up to take him to the bathroom during the night?  I’ve heard arguments for both sides from different parents, but I’m throwing it out there for the two or three of you who still play along here at the old blog.  I tend to lean toward the NEVER WAKE A SLEEPING BABY/CHILD/DOG side of the fence, but I’m open for advice.

Saturday was pretty uneventful, except for Otis.  No, Mayberry’s town drunk didn’t appear on our front porch and try to lock himself in for the night.  Otis is the name Tater Tot gave an old, old, old yellow lab who wandered into our yard Saturday afternoon looking like he was about to drop.  David got him some water and Tater Tot and I petted on him and loved on him, and I was pretty sure we were about to add another dog to our household, a thought that made me want to drink.  Heavily.  Anyhoo, we decided to take him to the animal emergency clinic on the off-chance that his owner had had an identification chip implanted in his back.  Well, she had, bless her heart.  Within a few minutes Otis’ owner was called and was on her way to pick him up.

Tater Tot was kind of upset that Otis didn’t return with David, but after a popsicle and 27 episodes of Spiderman, he was over his disappointment.  I know that’s what always gets me through the tough times.  Except substitute “coffee heath bar crunch” ice cream for “popsicles.”

I washed clothes on Saturday until I was completely caught up, which has only happened about NEVER before in my life.  However, as laundry tends to do, the baskets were brimming with dirty clothes about 24 hours later.  It’s because of this phenomenon that doing laundry never gives me a feeling of satisfaction.

Sunday was Father’s Day, of course, so Tater Tot gave David his presents at the crack of no-one-should-be-up-at-this-hour.  I don’t know why I bothered to wrap them because the four-year-old told him what was inside each package before David could open them.

We piddled around here until the boys’ naps were over, and then we headed to my husband’s parents’ house for a Father’s Day supper where a good time was had by all.  Mainly by those of us who didn’t have to clean or cook for the occasion.

Here are the four fellas:  Pawpaw, Small Fry, Tater Tot, and David

This picture of David and Tater Tot is one of my favorites.

Small Fry is just beginning to learn how good it is to be in Pawpaw’s lap!

We got back home Sunday night with two very sleepy and cranky (but loved and a little spoiled) boys.

So, boring weekend?  Yes.  A blessed one, though?  Definitely.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. David
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 20:02:28

    Glad you all had a good weekend. The laundry, I thought, never stopped before…but add a kid (much less your two) and it REALLY never ends!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

