Have a Seat…Or Not

You know the saying, “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.”

Apparently some folks believe that if it IS broken, there’s no reason to fix it either.

Case in point.  I spent two hours yesterday getting my hair colored because my roots had grown out to my ears, and who wants to look like there’s a landing strip on top of her head?  Not I, said the little red hen.  I was starving by the time I was through, so I decided to try Happi Mexicana, a restaurant around the corner from the salon.

Before sitting down, I headed to the ladies’ room and noticed that the first stall had a sign that said “no use” on it.  Okay, well that happens.  The middle stall was operable.  The third stall had no sign on the door, but this is what state the facilities were in.

So of course I whipped out my phone and took pictures of the seatless throne.  And then I saw the seat, which was under the sink.  Naturally.

Oddly enough, I suppose the management thought the stall was still usable because there was no sign on the door.

I decided that I wasn’t hungry for Mexican food and drove through a McDonald’s for a diet coke and called it a day.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kim sue
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 21:00:01

    it would be funny if it wasn’t such a sad commentary on the state of customer service. i was in that area the other day and saw the Happi Mexican for the first time. i almost stopped there for lunch but decided not. do you go to Goulds?

    Reply

  2. JLI
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 10:40:03

    Just the mention of food and a toilet in the same sentence kinds makes my stomach turn a little…

    Reply

  3. Kelley
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 14:28:31

    I have a friend who owns a restaurant and his moto is, “You can tell a lot about a restaurant based on how clean (or not) their bathroom is.”

    I say “good call” on McD’s. : )

    Reply

  4. thefarmerfiles
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 15:11:01

    Hmmm now see, that toilet would work for me. I totally stand over public potties every.single.time. No seat required.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

