Happy Sunflowers

I think sunflowers are the happiest flowers on earth.  I love them.  So you can imagine my unbridled joy when I saw these Friday  growing along the highway leading to my hometown.

Giddy, I tell you.  I was just giddy.

Small Fry was asleep, so I missed getting his picture amongst ALL THE HAPPY SUNFLOWERS, but Tater Tot was awake and therefore subject to my picture-taking frenzy.  At first, he wasn’t all too thrilled at having to pose for a picture, and he had a hard time focusing on anything other than the sea of grasshoppers and bumble bees buzzing about in the grass in front of him.

But then he relaxed a little and let me take another dozen or so pictures.

I’m still smiling.

(Of course, the sunflowers were planted as bait for a dove shoot when dove season opens in September.  That part makes me sad.)

Until then I’ll keep smiling at all the happy.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelley
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 07:59:05

    How sweet are those photos?!? I love sunflowers as well. We don’t really have them up here in Minnesota (at least that I know of anyway). : )

    Reply

  2. meghan @ spicy magnolia
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 20:11:58

    Stunning!!

    And the little man is adorable!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

