Hey, Grandpa, What’s for Supper?

I don’t know if any of you are old enough or would dare admit to recognizing that line from “Hee-Haw,” but it always comes to mind when I cook a supper like the one I fixed Saturday night.  We had fried eggplant, corn on the cob, baked sweet potatoes, and sliced tomatoes, one of which was the first tomato from my mother’s garden.  Oh, how I do love a homegrown tomato!

As I do every year, I took a picture of it.  (So I’m a tomato nerd.  I know it and embrace it.)

Have you ever had fried eggplant?  It’ll change your life, so I’m going to tell you how I cook it.  First, peel the eggplant and slice it into 1/8″ slices.  Fill a bowl with salt water, heavy on the salt, and put the slices in.  It takes the bitterness out of the eggplant.  Let the eggplant soak for about and hour.  When you’re ready to cook, mix corn meal and a little salt and pepper in a shallow dish.  Heat a generous amount of oil (I use olive oil) over almost-high heat in a skillet, preferably a cast-iron one if you have it.  Dip the slices in the meal mixture and then put them in the skillet.  Fry them until they’re light brown on each side.  The slices cool very quickly, so serve immediately.

Here’s what the fruits of you labor will look like.  I used yellow corn meal, so mine turned out a little on the yellow side.

They’re not pretty, but YUM, y’all!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy B
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 16:57:32

    You cook some fried yellow squash and I’m in the car and heading over!!! I’m going to try the eggplant – looks so good.

    Reply

  2. kim sue
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 20:28:51

    my mom & dad gave us a few of their first tomatoes,so we had BLTs. I’m pretty sure that is the perfect food. Homegrown tomatoes, pork fat, crunchy green leaf lettuce, little mayo and soft, fresh white bread. I’m a tomato nerd too! :o)

    Reply

  3. thefarmerfiles
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 00:03:04

    So what is your variety of tomato called? And so tomato nerd, do you cage them or stake them? AND I want to know how tall the plants are when you buy them AND I want to know if you are a Bonnie Bell girl, a Home Depot, or a Wal Mart plant girl…because I have bought them all 3 places. I am a cage tomato girl myself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

