There’s Not a Real Theme to This Post

Happy Friday!  I have nothing in particular to write about, so in true Tater Tales fashion, I believe I’ll ramble a bit about a couple of different things.

Tater Tot received an invitation to a birthday party for Sunday night.  That’s right.  An evening birthday party on the 4th of July.  It’s at Chuck-E-Cheese’s, which as we all know is the traditional place to celebrate the birth of our nation.  The puzzling part?  There was no name on the invitation, so we have absolutely no idea who the birthday girl is.  None whatsoever.  I suppose this is a reverse surprise party, where the guests show up and then discover whose birthday we’re celebrating.  I’m not even sure we can make it, and I have no idea what to do about sending a gift because HELLO!  THE BIRTHDAY GIRL COULD BE ANYONE!

Small Fry had tubes put in his ears Thursday morning.  We had to be at the surgery center by 6:30, which means I got up at 5:30, and OH, HOW PAINFUL THAT WAS!  The only thing more depressing is that there was a family ahead of us who had to be there at 6:00.  Y’all.  That’s awfully early to have to entertain a tired and cranky little fellow, not to mention a certain mama who wasn’t in the greatest mood at that unspeakable hour.  I thought, since we were the second case of the day, that we’d be in and out by 8:00 at the latest.  Well.  As my friend, Diane, would say, that’s what I get for thinking.  Small Fry wasn’t taken back to surgery until 8:00, and we weren’t out until 9.  I staggered out of there with one drunk little one-year-old, let me tell you.  He had a cup of juice to help with the hangover, I suppose, but I had not had one sip of caffeine yet.  Not even a diet coke.  I stopped by Starbucks on the way home and got a Venti coffee and drank half of it in one gulp.  By the time we got home I felt like a semi-normally functioning human being.  Well, normal for me.

One day last week I found that I had the whole day to myself.  I had a couple of generous gift certificates to a teachers’ supply store, so I decided to do my back-to-school shopping, vowing not to spend one cent over the value of my certificates.  You know, I really shouldn’t ever vow not to do something because it only sets me up for failure.  I may have gone a little overboard.

You may notice that I have several western-themed pieces in my collection.  We can name our classes, and I’m going back to what I used when I taught 1st grade.  We’re going to be the Wranglers.  Ya-hoo!  There are so many cute things that go along with being Wranglers.  I have a good collection of things like these stick kids.

The classroom is called  “The Ranch” and our newsletter is the “Wrangler Round-Up.”  It’s kind of cheesy, but the kids get into it.  I used to have a big canvas banner with what looked like a branded W, but it (and all of my other Wrangler stuff) disappeared during the three years that I stayed home.  I don’t think anyone took it; it probably got thrown out as space was needed for teachers who were actually working.  I had to come to terms with the fact that it’s an elementary school, not a storage facility for teachers who are iffy about when to go back to work.

Anyway, I’m excited about all the new stuff for the coming year, and I’m even looking forward to getting in my room in a couple of weeks and getting things ready.  It will be nice if I can walk into the first day of inservice and have my room completely organized, because this year’s inservice week is full of meetings and workshops, which means very little time to work in our rooms.  So if I can get things straight before that week, I think I can start the year off on a stress-free note.

Of course, you know what I get for thinking.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 10:22:17

    I love your stuff! I hope one of mine get to enjoy it. 🙂 🙂 You better let me know asap if you’re one of their teachers! Whoever we get, it will be a surprise. I’m already getting kind of excited about going back. I’m a dork, I know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

