Climbing, Fashion, and Realizing That I Am A “Real” Parent

When we return to school in August, we’ll all ask each other what we did over the summer break.

So far I’ve watched Small Fry learn to climb onto the shelf under the island and work his way into the catch-all box.  It goes something like this.  First, he pulls himself up to the shelf and sits on the side of the box.

Then he plops his little bottom into the box and finds that he is stuck.

Sometimes we help him out, but he’s pretty good at getting himself out.  He seems to enjoy this process.

And he’s finally free and very pleased with himself.

He does this about 39 times a day.  I’m not sure what to make of it, but it keeps him happy.  And a happy baby makes a happy mama.

We’ve also watched as Tater Tot’s independence started to really kick in.  It happened shortly after he became fully potty trained (AND THE PEOPLE SAID “AMEN!”) and now he wants to do everything by himself.  For example, he likes to pick out his own clothes, and sometimes he picks things that match and go very well together.  And sometimes he doesn’t, as evidenced by the socks he picked out yesterday and insisted on wearing.  One has a picture of a dinosaur and the other has a picture of Woody from “Toy Story.”  It’s not what I would’ve picked, but it works for him and makes him happy.  And a happy toddler makes a happy mama.

He’s also in the WHY stage.  Why is the sky blue?  Why is that truck moving?  Why does it rain?  Why is Small Fry always taking my toys?  Why is that squirrel dead?  Why can’t I eat a popsicle in my bed?

I try to answer his questions as best I can, but sometimes there are no answers, and sometimes he asks the same question right after I’ve given him the answer.  And that, my friends, gets old pretty fast.  I’ve actually heard myself say the same thing my parents said, which I swore I wouldn’t say to my own children.  “Because I said so.”  Uttering those words must mean I have graduated to that place of becoming a “real” parent.

And now, since your eyes are starting to droop if you’ve made it this far, I declare that this is the end of today’s post.

Because I said so.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JLI
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 12:50:48

    Since I can be somewhat fashion-challenged myself, let me offer you the following explanation as to why Tater Tot’s socks totally work:

    1.) White goes with everything.
    2.) The blue sock matches his blue shirt. If you watch What Not To Wear, you know that you can mix colors and even shades, and it’s not a fashion crime.
    3.) He has on khaki shorts. Khaki is a neutral, so it goes with BOTH socks!

    Now, if he had on camo shorts, I might have had to give this a little more thought but I could have found a way to make it work. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Kelley
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 15:42:20

    I loved reading this! Too cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

