Want an Easy Dinner? Look No Further

I’ve never considered myself a great cook and I doubt that “Master of the Kitchen” will be engraved on my tombstone.  It’ll probably be more like “No One Napped as Well as She.”  I’ve spent so much of my life perfecting the art of napping that I may as well be remembered for it.

Wait.  What was I going to write about…  Oh, right.  My friend, Amy, who is an unbelievable cook, always says that all you need is a good recipe.  After that it’s smooth cooking.  In my case, it’s often smooth burning.  But whatever.

We’re trying to eat healthier around here for a number of reasons, so I’ve got this great cookbook, and I’ve enjoyed everything I’ve made so far.  And that is saying something, y’all, so you might want to try this one.  It’s easy, it’s fast, it’s tasty, and my people loved it.

Enjoy.

EASY MEXICAN CHICKEN AND BEANS

1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken strips for stir-fry

1 envelope taco seasoning mix

1 can (15-16 oz) black or pinto beans, rinsed and drained (I used black beans.)

1 can (11 oz) whole kernel corn (You can use the kind with red and green peppers if you like.)

1/4 cup water

Spray a 10-inch nonstick skillet with cooking spray.  Cook chicken in skillet over medium-high heat 8-10 minutes, stirring occasionally, until no longer pink in the middle.

Stir in seasoning mix, beans, corn, and water.  Cook over medium-high heat 8-10 minutes, stirring frequently, until sauce is slightly thickened.  Serve with tortilla chips.

*  Note:  The next time I make this, I think I’ll add some diced tomatoes and red onion for a little kick.)

Makes 4 servings.

(1 serving: 335 calories; 5g fat;  12g fiber; 48g carbohydrate; 70mg cholesterol; 37g protein)

Leave a Reply

