Jumping Ship

I’ve made a decision about the blog.  It’s about time for me to move from WordPress to Typepad.  It’s not that WordPress isn’t a great place to have a blog.  I’ve had nothing but wonderful experiences with their customer support team.  Wordpress has served me well, but I’d like to have a custom blog design, and to do that you have to use wordpress.org.  To go that route, I think you have to be pretty computer literate.  Which I most certainly am not.

In a few weeks, a designer will be working on a new look for Tater Tales.  I could not be more excited if the diet coke truck pulled up to my house for the entire contents to be unloaded into my refrigerator.  The change should take place sometime in August.

However, I need your help because the blog address has to change.  Would you believe there are other “Tater Tales” out there?  Who’d a thunk it?  When I started the old blog two years ago, I didn’t find any others when I googled the name.  And someone already owns tatertales.com, but there’s nothing there when I pull up that address.  Whatever the case, I won’t be able to use simple old tatertales.typepad.com because it’s not available.  I do own my own domain with another host, but I’ve never done anything with it because I didn’t exactly know what to do.  Remember, I am technologically impaired.  I probably shouldn’t be allowed to own a computer.

So that being said, I’ve been playing with Typepad for a little while, getting ready to set up an account.  Since I have to create a new URL (like I know what that stands for), I’ve come up with a few choices, and I thought I’d run them past you.

  1. http://www.thetaters.blahblahblah  (This, to me, looks a lot like “theaters.  What do you think?)
  2. http://www.thetatertales.blahblahblah
  3. http://www.thetatertalesblog.blahblahblah
  4. http://www.tatertalesblog.blahblahblah  (Thanks Jen and Ellen for suggesting this one.  It’s available.)

If you’ll let me know what you think, even if you’ve never commented before, I would SO appreciate it.  You may have noticed that I have decision-making issues.  At least I think I do.  I can’t decide.

I hope, whatever the address ends up being, that you’ll continue to visit the blog.  Because I appreciate your stopping by, and I thank you.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JLI
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 09:25:21

    I’ve threatened to move to Blogger a few times to have a custom design too, but WP offers up enough new ones (especially now; they release new themes all the time) that it keeps me from getting bored. I also worry too that I lose readers since the URL (Uniform Resource Locator) would need to change, too. And well, I don’t have enough to risk losing the 5 regular readers I do have!

    I agree that the first one reads “theaters”.

    So, I guess you’re switching to Typepad because they have a free hosting service that still allows you to customize your blog theme? Interesting…

    I kinda like the 3rd choice – minus “the”. Just tatertalesblog.blahblah. Was that taken?

    Reply

  2. Ellen S.
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 09:42:12

    I agree with JLI – just tatertalesblog.blahblah or mytatertales.blahblah might be good too. Wait, I don’t think I’m helping with decision-making here. I guess I’m a little indecisive myself….maybe.

    Reply

  3. Katherine @ Grass Stains
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 10:23:20

    I like tatertalesblog myself.

    Reply

  4. Quirky is a Compliment
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 12:00:20

    I agree. Tatertalesblog is my first choice, and then mytatertales is the second. Good luck on the new look/home!

    Reply

  5. Mrs. Lemon
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 17:43:57

    I like Tatertalesblog.com 🙂

    Reply

  6. Jennifer
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 08:46:20

    I’m with the above…I like tatertalesblog.blahblahblah. I especially like the .blahblahblah part. Clever. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

