Monday Has Hijacked My Friday

Today seems like Monday rather than Friday.  Mondays always overwhelm me, and I’m a little overwhelmed.

Tater Tot’s birthday party is tomorrow.  It’s nothing big and fancy — just family.  But there is the whole planning bit that goes on.  How many people can make it;  the list of things to get;  ordering the cake;  wrapping the presents (which I have not done).

I planned to wrap the presents today while Tater Tot and Small Fry went to “school,” but they’re both home because Tater Tot has an awful cough.  I figured that if I took him to play, someone would call within 5 minutes to tell me to come pick him up so as not to infect a dozen other little children and several adults.  So the wrapping will have to wait until the little ones are asleep.  Of course, I stashed the presents in Small Fry’s room because Tater Tot would never think to nose around in there.  All I have to do is remember to drag everything out before I put Small Fry to bed, and forgetfulness is one of my signature traits.

Speaking of forgetfulness, the pest man came today and we (meaning David, who is home AGAIN) forgot to close one of the back gates.  Then he immediately let the dogs out the back door.  All three — including Zeus, who moves at the speed of dripping honey — took a tour of the neighborhood.  Good times.

One week from Monday, I’ll be back at school for a week of inservice.  I have one week to deep clean the house (again).  I have one week to enjoy getting up at 7:30 rather than 5:30 or 6:00.  I have one week to get myself and the house organized enough to survive the next 10 months.  There are clothes to wash and iron.  There are quick and easy menus to plan and shop for.  There is one week to get the boys on an early morning schedule so the real thing won’t blow their little minds.  There is the constant nag of how to crunch all of the household jobs into a couple of hours a night so things don’t get backed up for the weekends.  It’s all a little daunting to think about, even though I know once we settle into the routine it will all work itself out.

Our internet is on the blink, so sometimes my laptop will connect and sometimes it won’t.  It’s kind of frustrating, but it leaves more time to work on all the things that need to get done.

My normal stress-calming mechanism would be to eat half a cheesecake and drink a tub full of diet Coke.  But, again, my hips forbid me to do it.

I’m hopeful that my Friday eventually catches up with itself.  And I hope you all have a lovely weekend.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lora Lynn @ Vitafamiliae
    Jul 24, 2010 @ 08:54:20

    Does this mean your blogging is going to taper off again? Sigh. I’ve so enjoyed having you back in my Reader. Hope you catch up to yourself soon…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

