And Birthday Makes 4

Monday was Tater Tot’s fourth birthday, a fact that astonishes me because I KNOW we brought him home from the hospital yesterday.

Saturday was the family birthday party at my mother’s house.  My brother, Jim, drove in from Knoxville to celebrate with us.  When Tater Tot saw him, he hugged him for what seemed like an hour.  The boy loves his uncle almost as much as his uncle loves him, which is a whole lot.

The theme for the day was Spiderman.  Here’s the cake.  (Don’t mind the smudge…I blotted out Tater Tot’s name.)

After two bites of cake, the birthday boy was ready to open presents, but he waited patiently while the rest of us old people sat down for a few minutes to enjoy a piece of cake and ice cream.  We finally quit torturing the poor child and started the present-opening part of the party.

The wonderful thing about going to a four-year-old’s birthday party is that everything he opened was followed by, “It’s just what I ALWAYS wanted!”

My mother gave him a butterfly garden, which he’d been asking for since he saw it on TV a few months ago.  It arrived a couple of weeks ago, so by Saturday, the caterpillars had already gone through their metamorphosis.  When we opened the box we found about 7 butterflies just waiting to be admired.  Tater Tot was giddy as he watched the butterflies fly around in their new little home, and he and Jim put leaves and sugar water in for them to enjoy.

Tater Tot decided that they butterflies needed to be let go Sunday afternoon.  He said, “They need to find some of their friends,” so we said our goodbyes and sent them on their way.

Jim gave Tater Tot a “mixer mixer truck” that makes noise and everything.  Tater Tot is fascinated with all kinds of construction trucks, so the cement mixer was a big hit.  He parked it next to his bed Saturday night so it wouldn’t get lonely.

Tater Tot was kind enough to share and let Jim and David play with it, too.

David’s parents gave him a tee-ball set.  Jim took him into the backyard and gave him a few pointers about hitting the ball, and then they played for a sweet forever.  Tater Tot has pretty good aim.  When I went out to watch, every time I moved to a different spot, the little stinker nearly hit me with the ball.

Monday was very exciting for Tater Tot because he decided he wanted to take cupcakes to his “school” and share them with his friends.  I’m sure his teacher was calling me some ugly names since I’d left her to distribute sugary cupcakes and deal with the aftermath.  I don’t know if any of those children took a nap.

Tater Tot, David, and I had the afternoon to ourselves, so we went to see Toy Story 3.  It was as good as everyone says it is, and Tater Tot loved it.  Except for the parts he missed while going up and down the steps 83 times.

We picked up Small Fry and headed home, where there were a few more little gifts waiting for him after supper.  Then it was bath time and bedtime for one sleepy little four-year-old.

Before falling asleep he asked if he could have his birthday again tomorrow since we had some cake leftover.  “We can do it all over again.”

I had to break the news that he had to wait another year for his birthday to roll around again.  That suits me fine.  Because these birthdays seem to be coming faster and faster each year.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelley
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 08:00:45

    My nephews at that age were all about the trucks as well: mixers, dump trucks, movers, you name it! They moved on to Lego’s at the age of 6 or so.

    I predict Lego’s in your future for some reason. 🙂

    Reply

  2. JLI
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 08:24:50

    Very sweet…

    I must say, I’m surprised any of the adults could handle the cake. Whenever I see highly saturated colors of frosting, it turns my stomach. I suppose if it’s butter cream we’re talking about, I could make an exception.

    Reply

  3. Quirky is a Compliment
    Jul 27, 2010 @ 12:29:57

    awesome birthday party Mom! Looks like fun was had by all.

    ps- I didn’t know such a thing as a butterfly garden existed, but now I want one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

