Wine, Food, and Lightning

Last Thursday night I went to a girls’ night out party called Corks and Canvass.  About 30 of us met at a friend’s house for a little wine and appetizers followed by an art lesson from our very talented friend, Jessie.

Our objective for the evening was to make mosaic crosses with a painted background.  I’ll be the first to admit that I broke out into a cold sweat just thinking I had to be creative.  I was happy simply to be out of the house and around grown-ups for a few hours.

Anyolehoo.

I opted out of the corks part of the get-together because (1) I’m on a strict coffee diet, and (2) wine tends to give me a headache after the first glass.  Knowing that school was starting in a few days was enough to give me a headache, so why add to it?

Of course, after we finished the final product, I thought that a little vino might have helped.  The background is supposed to look like distressed wood, but it looks like the only distressed part of it was the artist.

Some of the crosses turned out beautifully, and regardless of what we took home, we all had a great time.  We hardly noticed the storm that was a-brewing outside.  There was thunder, rain, and an insane amount of lightning.  It soon passed over us and I headed home with my lopsided cross in tow.  I expected to find the house nice and quiet with two little boys tucked snugly into their beds.

My expectations were a little too lofty.

As luck (or unluck) would have it, the lightning storm was pretty severe at our house.  The big sycamore tree that stands about 30 feet from the front door was struck by lighting.  Bark is stripped off all over the thing, and you can see the hole in the ground at the base of the tree where the lightning hit the ground.  We’re hoping to save the tree, not necessarily because we love it, but because we don’t want to fork over the money to have it cut down.

The tree getting struck, however, wasn’t the worst part.  The storm knocked out our internet and the satellite.  HORRORS!  For three whole days we had no TV or internet access, and David and I were nearly beside ourselves.  I didn’t so much miss the TV, but oh my stinking heck did I miss the internet.  David practically went into mourning, because you’ll recall that TVs are his love language, which is why we have six in our little house.  Heaven forbid that we should walk from one room to another and miss an episode of Big Brother or an O.C. rerun.

The boys didn’t handle the storm very well.  From what I understand, there was much crying and clinging and whining and carrying on.  I think David white-knuckled it until I got home.

After which he needed a little cork party of his own.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JLI
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 09:10:05

    Coming from someone who is pretty much artistically-impaired, I think the cross looks suh-WEET!

    I’m on a mosaic mission right now, myself. I want to mosaic a mirror frame, but I have yet to find the right mirror (I’m trying to shop 2nd hand so I don’t make a huge investment on something that may very well turn out to be the ugliest creation ever).

    When I lived in Pittsburgh, PA a tornado struck within a couple miles of my house. The storm was bad enough that it uprooted an apple tree 30 feet from our front door. There was flooding and we had no power for 2 weeks. It was a bad time! I was white-knuckling it, too. Those kinds of storms aren’t cool or neat – they are downright scary!

    As is no TV or internet. 🙂

    Reply

  2. meghan @ spicy magnolia
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 13:23:05

    I LOVE the cross you made; it turned out great! Also, a happy belated birthday to your little fella! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Quirky is a Compliment
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 13:35:55

    It is a lovely cross! And I could totally tell that the background was distressed wood. A+!

    No TV or internet! I think I’d rather have been the one to be struck by lightning than to go without TV and internet! I shudder at the very thought. (*Hugs computer for reassurance*)

    Reply

  4. mary carol
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 14:18:26

    Marian—you’re too hard on yourself. The cross is really pretty. Give yourself a break and a pat on the back 🙂

    Reply

  5. Jennifer
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 22:50:55

    I loved this post! So much so that I read it out loud to my hubby and we enjoyed laughing together. And now he can’t wait to meet you.

    OH.MY.GOODNESS!!! I am so beside myself to have your for my sweet baby Noah this year. I hope you love him as much as I do. If you ever have a bad day and need a hug, he’s a snuggler. 🙂

    Enjoy your last few kid-less days in your classroom!

    Reply

  6. Trackback: A Hodgepodge « Tater Tales

Leave a Reply

